A Sunday Times Bestselling Author
for gritty heartwarming family sagas and compulsive historical fiction

HomeAbout MeBooksBlogContact


Follow Freda on:





Luckpenny Land - 1

Life is hard for Meg Turner. She lives on a lonely farm in the bleak but beautiful mountains of the English Lake District with a bully of a father who wants to keep her stuck at home. But Meg wants more than the kitchen sink, and turns for love to her best friend Kath, and to Lanky Lawson, who’s more of a father figure than her own father will ever be.

As World War Two approaches Meg soon discovers that the only thing she can really count on is her passion for the land she loves. Until one day a stranger arrives in the dale and her world changes for ever.

Storm Clouds Over Broombank - 2

Meg Turner is at last doing the job she loves. But life as a sheep farmer -unusual for a woman even in war time - proves tougher at times than she expected. With her loyalties divided she fears losing the one man she truly loves should he decide to go roving again. And dare she allow herself to love baby Lissa when her mother may return to claim her at any time? Kath is facing new challenges in the WAAF, but can she ever get over the guilt of leaving her child behind?

Wishing Water - 3

Lissa Turner seems to have everything a girl could ever hope for: she’s pretty and intelligent, has warm and devoted parents and a beautiful home in the Lake District. But despite her good fortune, Lissa is not happy, for her real mother abandoned her while she was still a baby, and her feelings of confusion and vulnerability have persisted.

As soon as she is old enough she takes up a job in Carreckwater, a lively village in the heart of Lakeland. She makes many friends but is wary of close relationships. Secretly Lissa wants nothing more than to be loved and cherished, but her lack of faith in herself launches her into a disastrous marriage with sinister consequences...

Larkrigg Fell - 4

The Brandon twins are unalike in every way except in their love of their home, Larkrigg Hall. Beth is the romantic one with dreams of an idyllic life in rural Lakeland. Sarah is willing to take risks to achieve the life style she craves.

But jealousy and greed mar their uncertain relationship so that when tragedy strikes both sisters are forced to come to terms with a very different situation. Sarah goes off to Italy, Beth loses the man she loves and launches into an unplanned marriage. Facing emotional turmoil and financial ruin, Beth must learn to fight for, or lose, the things that matter most to her.

Luckpenny Land Series

‘paints a vivid picture of life on the fells during the war. Enhanced by fine historical detail and strong characterisation it is an endearing story...’ Westmorland Gazette on Luckpenny Land

An entertaining saga - Manchester Evening News

Read an extract

Read an extract

Read an extract

Read an extract

Luckpenny LandStorm Clouds over BroombankWishing WaterLarkrigg Fell